Connecticut Ambien DUI Lawyers
Ambien, and a similar sleeping pill called Lunesta, are classified as sedative-hypnotic drugs that is effective for inducing sleep as well as calming persons suffering from extreme anxiety. These commonly prescribed sleeping medications also produce sleepwalking, a potentially dangerous condition where you are engaged in a physical activity without full consciousness. It can also result in an even more dangerous activity called “sleep driving.” If you are facing Ambien DUI, or Lunesta DUI charges, anywhere in Connecticut please contact our team of Connecticut Ambien DUI lawyers for a free consultation.
Connecticut DUI Penalties
|1ST OFFENSE||2ND OFFENSE||3RD OFFENSE|
|Jail||2 days up to 6 months||120 days up to 2 years||1 year up to 3 years|
|Fines and Penalties||$500 to $1,000||$1,000 to $4,000||$2,000 to $8,000|
|License Suspension||1 year||1 year||Permanent|
Connecticut Lookback Period
Most states have what is known as a lookback period when it comes to DUI charges. In Connecticut that period is 10 years. The lookback period is a period of time that prior DUIs are relevant for sentencing. Also known as a “washout” period.
How much do you have to drink (BAC*) for a DUI in Connecticut?
|21 or older||.08%|
** BAC = blood alcohol content
You may want to try our BAC Calculator, however I wouldn’t let any results encourage you to drink and drive.
WHAT IF YOU REFUSE TO TAKE A CHEMICAL TEST IN CONNECTICUT?
Connecticut has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. Learn more about Connecticut’s implied consent law.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Refusal to take test||6 months suspension of license||1 year suspension of license||3 years suspension of license|
DUI Plea Options In Connecticut
A defendant might receive a “wet reckless,” or a conviction of reckless driving involving alcohol, as a result of a plea bargain in which a charge of drunk driving is reduced to a case of reckless driving. There is no statutory provision on whether a wet reckless plea bargain will be accepted in Connecticut, but it’s possible a lawyer may be able to create a plea bargain for you.
Drinking And Driving Laws In Connecticut
The State of Connecticut has drunk driving laws that address driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs. Like many other states around the country, Connecticut has a lower blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for drivers under the age of 21. It is illegal for a minor to drive with a BAC of .02 percent or above. Adult drivers are considered legally intoxicated if their BAC is .08 percent and above.
Reaching The Legal Limit In Connecticut
There is no way to determine this as each individual is different and several factors come into play. Each driver has specific traitss that may impact the number of drinks that it takes to become legally drunk. Many factors, including weight, age and number of drinks consumed within a given time frame, all contribute to a drivers blood alcohol concentration (BAC). One study showed that one drink could raise your BAC by .05 percent. Keep in mind that in Connecticut you can be prosecuted for a DUI without being chemically tested, and you may be arrested without any direct evidence if your ability to drive has been “affected to an appreciable degree”.
The State of Connecticut has strict laws for drunk driving, and when you drink and drive in Connecticut, you risk your freedom, finances and your future.
Our Connecticut Ambien DUI lawyers handle Ambien DUI, Lunesta DUI and traditional alcohol-induced DUI cases throughout all Connecticut counties, Connecticut county seats, suburban, urban and rural areas. This includes: Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland and Windham.
They also handle Lunesta DUI charges in all Connecticut citoes, towns, county seats and rural areas such as: Fairfield and Bridgeport, Hartford, Litchfield, Middletown, New Haven, New London, Tolland and Rockville, Windham, Brooklyn and Willimantic
No matter what state you were arrested in our team of Ambien DUI defense attorneys can help as they serve all 50 states and Washington D.C. including: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Washington D.C., West Virginia, Wyoming and Wisconsin.